English is my L2. Must I sound foreign to be known as a good prolific writer? I like sounding like me and made in Nigeria.

ABIODUN AJALA
2 min readDec 24, 2023

--

English is my L2. Must I sound foreign to be known as a good prolific writer? I like sounding like me and made in Nigeria.

Waiting for validation can make you stop halfway through your writing career. As in trying to see how you can please readers or every reader.

I am an African. English was imported to me, and I appreciate the fact that Western education has an impact on us. Education is the best thing that happened to many of us here. Just imagine life without the English Language connecting with you would have been difficult.

Please don’t expect the perfect English from me. Some people speak good English, and they are bad at writing English. Some are poor in the usage of English but very good at writing it. Balancing the oral and written aspects of English is of ongoing concern. Hence the need for us to keep learning and keep writing.

When I write I want my target audience to feel me. A poetic license is much allowed in writing. I have every right to employ words. Nigeria is English. Using Naija is a poetic license. Maybe you would call it pidgin English. But it is quicker and more fashionable to use when talking to my audience in my country.

Have you ever self-talk yourself that you aren’t good enough at writing and or public speaking? Then you stopped writing. Or you have allowed other people’s voices to discourage you from being a web writer or blogger? I want you to go and face the mirror. Tell yourself you are super good. Take that pen and write anything you feel like writing. Bring out your computer and start typing on MS Word. Write anything and give it a title.

For every mistake you make in writing. It pushes you to your glory and a time will come when you shall be launched into glory.

Thank you. Please share.

--

--